Doug Thomas with Lord Mayor, Cllr David Phillips

Doug presented with annual Penderry volunteer of the year award

Doug Thomas has been named winner of the Tony Blake volunteer of the year award 2018, presented annually by the Penderry ward councillors.


In the awards ceremony at Penlan Social Club, Doug emerged as the winner from 16 other nominees. He was presented with his award by the Lord Mayor of Swansea, Cllr David Phillips.


The runners up were June Paddison and Steve Simmons and Richie Rees.


School governor Doug, who is involved with seven charities including UK Swimathon and Morriston Hospital League of Friends, said: “I am deeply honoured to receive this wonderful award.

Runners-up Steve Simmons and Richie Rees collected by family

Runners-up Steve Simmons and Richie Rees collected by family


“I have spent all my adult life supporting the most vulnerable people living in society.


“I got involved in water safety after my brother drowned in Cornwall whilst serving in the navy and so this award is wonderful to receive and recognises some of the work I have undertaken in the Swansea and west wales community.”


Added Doug, who is also a trained Samaritans’ telephone adviser: “However, I would like to stress this is very much a team effort in all that I do to support others in our great city of Swansea.”


The winner and two runners-up were judged by the Lord Mayor, Carolyn Harris MP and Mike Hedges AM.


The winner received the volunteer of the year cup and a cheque for £100 to donate to their chosen charity. The runners-up received £50 each to donate to charity.

Runner up Shirley Paddison

Runner up Shirley Paddison

The ward councillors – Terry Hennegan, June Burtonshaw and Hazel Morris – initiated the award in 2017 in honour of Tony Blake, a long serving volunteer with the Prescelli Ragged Football team.


“As councillors, June, Hazel and myself wanted to recognise the many volunteers across the ward and their commitment to work to help others,” said Cllr Hennegan.


“We are delighted for Doug. He is a very worthy winner but there were 16 others with very strong cases to be recognised,” said Cllr Burtonshaw.


Cllr Morris added: “This is an important award which recognises the work of so many unsung volunteers in our community.”


Last year June Williams, from Mountbatten Court, was named as Volunteer of the Year. The first runner-up was Gaynor Williams, St Teilos Pantry, and the second runner-up was David Howells, Blaenymaes Primary School.



0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.